Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™

Columbia Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™

Just one more mile, you’ll be telling yourself in this lightweight, moc-inspired trail shoe. Waterproof and breathable mesh and leather upper, ultra-responsive midsole, and thermal reflective lining keep feet comfortable and warm while aggressive traction outsole lets you wander far and wide.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Review 1 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps your feet warm

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Moline, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I find that the shoes do keep your feet warm. They are easy to get off and on. Not sure if they are water proof yet but will find out soon. They tend to run a bit small. I wear an 11 and are a bit tight. They fit snug around the foot. temps here have been in the negatives for a while now, but these shoes have kept my feet warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to their promise.

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are robust shoes.
Perfectly no non-sense function.
Completely waterproof.
No effect of a multiple snow-storm usage (New England style storm - 24''-36'')
On top of that, they are fine looking shoes.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the PeakFreak line! A wondeful addition.

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a waterproof and omni-heat shoe to replace an older Columbia Sports shoe. I was pleasantly surprised one was available in the PeakFreak line because I have 2 other PeakFreak shoes (mid-top and low-top). I love the soles on these shoes; great grip. I've never had a blister in the other ones and haven't come close in this shoe. The other reviews implied a slightly smaller fit so I got a 10.5 instead of my usual 10 and it was a good decision.
One thing to note: the omni-heat layer doesn't wick away perspiration so what I've found, depending on the type of sock, is my foot feeling cooler because of the in-kept dampness. I think the leather will start to breath better after more break-in.
I am an urbanite so I cannot say that I hit the trails in these shoes. But they've been great on the 2-times-a-day walks in the 10-30 degree weather we've been having on the East coast.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Saint Paul, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far these are standing up very well to winter in Minnesota. Even with temps of -15, my feet have been warm and dry.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hands down best winter do it all boot!

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Absolutely the best winter shoe ever! Traction, heat, warmth, light, comfortable, good looking, waterproof. Yes water proof, I was out chasing the dog running around in slush and snow in freezing rain that was over the top of foot. Before that I had been on my bicycle. Couple nights later 15 mile bike ride in below 10° temps plus what ever windchill took it down to. Why do insulated boots need to be heavy and bulky? They do not!
I was leery because I have size 10 Peakfreak Enduro and they are a bit narrow. Ordered these in 10.5 and absolutely love them. So now I'll order another pair of Enduro in 10.5 for summer. I wear 10 in most shoes and 44 in bike shoes. Apparently 10.5 in Columbia.
I don't know if I would wear these on an extended hike, all depends on pack weight and terrain. Packing light and fast, you bet though!
Oh the bad, shoe laces are a Bear to keep tied. They are getting a lot better as they break in, but I will change them.
When they first showed up, I was thinking they were too thin to be warm. I was wrong! Actually at 50° they are too warm. I always wanted Omni heat socks for my winter cycling shoes. You know what, these just became my winter cycling shoes! Plus shovel the driveway shoes, plus the clean Em up wear to church on Sunday shoe. Outings, shopping, hikes, bike, no bike. Love them!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight trail shoe

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been amazed at how light the shoes feel while walking and on short hikes. I am using them for daily work and short hikes near my home in the Pacific Northwest and in pouring rain. The waterproofing works quite well. I have not completed a mountain trail with them yet, but they do seem worthy of simple trails. I prefer something with a stronger sole for longer hikes or rocky trails.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! Lightweight warm boots without the bulk

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Amesbury, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have spent way too much time and effort trying to find a lightweight boot with insulation and a low cut. This boot is the hands down winner (and really the only contender in my opinion). They feel like sneakers with great treads to handle many surfaces. The 200 grams of insulation is just what you need for trips to the supermarket on cold days without the bulk of serious winter boots. I can tell these will be used all the time while my bulky boots will only come out for nor'easters and sledding with the kids.
Oh yeah, and they are waterproof.
Only one complaint (of course). The laces are too short, but you can easily replace them and you are good to.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Peakfreak™ Nomad Chukka WP Omni-Heat™
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Hiker

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good looking hiker. Real comfortable. Not heavy, been wearing around in 40 to 70 degree weather to get ready for 20 degree weather. So far not hot or cold to wear. Curious to see how real cold temp will be because it is leather. Love them, good tread on them. Grips well. I'm female with a wide foot, 9.5-10 women's size usually, and this fit is perfect in the mens 8.5.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byGerson
Whittier, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Gerson is loaded.
Additional information about Gerson could not be loaded.
Warm weather
onMarch 22, 2015
How do these feel in warm weather?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)